Kofi Annan, Nigeria’s ‘Ebola doctor get 2018 posthumous ECOWAS Prize of Excellence

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Kofi Annan, Nigeria’s ‘Ebola doctor get 2018 posthumous ECOWAS Prize of Excellence

Ex-Secretary-General of the United Nations Kofi Annan, and Nigeria’s ‘Ebola doctor,’ Dr. Ameyo Adadevoh have been posthumously awarded the 2018 Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Prize of Excellence, for their contributions to the region’s well-being.

The prize was received by the representatives of their families at the 55th summit of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government held on Saturday in Abuja.

Madam Germaine Acogny, a Senegalese choreographer and dancer who designed African Dance and created several dance schools in Senegal and France was also among the recipient to receive the award. 

The wife of the ex-UN secretary-general, Nane Annan, the son of Adadevoh, Bankole Cardoso and Acogny received the awards and cash prizes of $20,000, $10,000 and $15,000, respectively.

Kofi Annan, who died on 18th of August, 2018, was a Ghanaian diplomat who served as the 7th Secretary-General of the UN between January 1997 to December, 2006.

Anna and the UN were the co-recipients of the 2001 Nobel Peace Prize and he was also the chairman and founder of the Kofi Annan Foundation in his home country.

In 1962, he joined the UN working for the World Health Organisation’s (WHO), Geneva office. 

Also, Adadevoh who was confirmed positive for Ebola virus disease after receiving a series of test and treatment on August 4, 2014, died on August 19, 2014.

She is widely known for her contributions towards curbing the spread of Ebola virus in Nigeria by placing the patient zero, Patrick Sawyer, in quarantine despite huge backlash from the Liberian government.

During the appreciation speech on behalf of the recipients, the wife of Annan expressed gratitude to ECOWAS for the award.

“I appreciate ECOWAS for this generous recognition of the immense contribution to the objectives of the organization by my husband and dear friend.”

Read More

“I would also like to show a heart of gratitude on behalf of the two other laureates, two brave women of West Africa, the late Dr. Ameyo Adadevoh for her selfless sacrifice to curb the spread of Ebola in Nigeria, and Madam Germaine Acogny for the richness and quality of her artistic production.”

Africh Royale

Africh Royale

Leave a Replay

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit