Teni, Mr. Eazi, and Burna Boy Nominated for The Prestigious BET Awards

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
BET Awards

Popular Nigerian music stars Teni, Burna Boy and Mr. Eazi have graced the nomination list of the 2019 Black Entertainment Television (BET) awards.

The BET Awards ceremony was established in 2001 to celebrate achievements in entertainment. Furthermore, it honors African-Americans and other American minorities in music, sports, acting, movies and other fields of entertainment. The awards capture creatives released between April 1st and March 31st, annually.

Teni has been rewarded for her sensational musical growth in 2018, with a nomination in the best new international act category. The ‘Uyo Meyo’ crooner has enjoyed the start of a new life in the entertainment industry since coming into limelight.

Teni’s nomination didn’t come as a surprise. She has been regarded by an expert as part of the next duo after Davido and Wizkid domination.

Meanwhile, Burna Boy and Mr. Eazi’s nomination came as expected, after the duo successful shutdown Coachella Festival in April. The duo was nominated in the best international act category alongside Dave (U.K.); AKA (South Africa); Dosseh (France); Nakamura (France) and Giggs (U.K).

Late black American rapper, Nipsey Hussle, also received a posthumous nomination in the hip-hop artist category.

At the 2018 award, Davido won the best international act. While South African hip-hop star Sjava won Viewers Choice: Best international act. The award becomes two on Davido’s cabinet.

Read Also: Hamisa Mobetto dreams of signing an International record label

What comes as a shock to all is the missing names of Ghanaian artistes. Ghana stars have always graced the list. Sarkodie has been the most frequent, with 3 nominations and 1 award from BET.

The 2019 BET awards are scheduled to hold on June 23rd, at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles

See full nomination list below.

Video of the year: 21 Savage featuring J. Cole, “A Lot”; Cardi B, “Money”; Cardi B and Bruno Mars, “Please Me”; Childish Gambino, “This Is America”; Drake, “Nice for What”; The Carters, “Apes(asterisk)(asterisk)t.”

Best female R&B/pop artiste: Beyoncé; Ella Mai; H.E.R.; Solange; SZA; Teyana Taylor.

Best male R&B/pop artiste: Anderson Paak; Bruno Mars; Childish Gambino; Chris Brown; John Legend; Khalid.

Best female hip-hop artiste: Cardi B; Kash Doll; Lizzo; Megan Thee Stallion; Nicki Minaj; Remy Ma.

Best male hip-hop artiste: 21 Savage; Drake; J. Cole; Meek Mill; Nipsey Hussle; Travis Scott.

Best new artiste: Blueface; City Girls; Juice WRLD; Lil Baby; Queen Naija.

Best group: Chloe x Halle; City Girls; Lil Baby and Gunna; Migos; The Carters.

Best collaboration: 21 Savage featuring J. Cole, “A Lot”; Cardi B and Bruno Mars, “Please Me”; Cardi B featuring J Balvin and Bad Bunny, “I Like It”; H.E.R. featuring Bryson Tiller, “Could’ve Been”; Travis Scott featuring Drake, “Sicko Mode”; Tyga featuring Offset, “Taste.”

Album of the year: Cardi B, “Invasion of Privacy”; Ella Mai, “Ella Mai”; Meek Mill, “Championships”; The Carters, “Everything Is Love”; Travis Scott, “Astroworld.”

Viewers’ choice award: Cardi B featuring J Balvin and Bad Bunny, “I Like It”; Childish Gambino, “This Is America”; Drake, “In My Feelings”; Ella Mai, “Trip”; J. Cole, “Middle Child”; Travis Scott featuring Drake, “Sicko Mode.”

Dr. Bobby Jones best gospel/inspirational award: Erica Campbell featuring Warryn Campbell, “All of My Life”; Fred Hammond, “Tell Me Where It Hurts”; Kirk Franklin, “Love Theory”; Snoop Dogg featuring Rance Allen, “Blessing Me Again”; Tori Kelly featuring Kirk Franklin, “Never Alone.”

Best actress: Issa Rae; Regina Hall; Regina King; Taraji P. Henson; Tiffany Haddish; Viola Davis.

Best actor: Anthony Anderson; Chadwick Boseman; Denzel Washington; Mahershala Ali; Michael B. Jordan; Omari Hardwick.

Best movie: “Blackkklansman”; “Creed 2”; “If Beale Street Could Talk”; “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse”; “The Hate U Give.”

Youngsters award: Caleb McLaughlin; Lyric Ross; Marsai Martin; Michael Rainey Jr.; Miles Brown.

Sportswoman of the year: Allyson Felix; Candace Parker; Naomi Osaka; Serena Williams; Simone Biles.

Sportsman of the year: Kevin Durant; LeBron James; Odell Beckham Jr.; Stephen Curry; Tiger Woods.

BET HER award:  Ciara, “Level Up”; H.E.R., “Hard Place”; Janelle Monae, “PYNK”; Queen Naija, “Mama’s Hand”; Alicia Keys, “Raise a Man”; Teyana Taylor, “Rose in Harlem.”

Video director of the year: Dave Meyers; Benny Boom; Karena Evans; Colin Tilley; Hype Williams.

Best international act: Aya Nakamura (France); Dosseh (France); Burna Boy (Nigeria); Dave (U.K.); Giggs (U.K.); AKA (South Africa); Mr. Eazi (Nigeria).

Best new international act: Jok’Air (France); Headie One (U.K.); Nesly (France); Teni (Nigeria); Octavian (U.K.); Sho Madjozi (South Africa).

Africh Royale

Africh Royale

Leave a Replay

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit