Chimamanda Adichie Beats 24 Others to win ‘Winner Of Winners’ Prize

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Chimamanda Adichie’s book, Half of a Yellow Sun, has beaten 24 other books to win the ‘Winner of Winners’ prize.

The prize is given to the best book to have won the Women’s Prize for Fiction in its 25-year history.

The one-off award marks the anniversary of the prize, formerly known as the Orange Prize and the Bailey’s Prize, BBC reports.

 “I am especially moved to be voted Winner of Winners because this is the prize that first brought a wide readership to my work and has also introduced me to the work of many talented writers,” she said.

The acclaimed author has received a silver edition of the prize’s annual statuette, known as the Bessie.

Author and playwright Kate Mosse, who is the founder and director of the UK-based prize, congratulated Adichie and said she was “thrilled” Half of a Yellow Sun had won.

Half of a Yellow Sun, published in 2006, is set in Nigeria during the Biafran War, exploring the end of colonialism, ethnic allegiances, class, race, and female empowerment.

Africh Royale

Africh Royale

Leave a Replay

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit